Focaccia and Frustrations!

I am working from home on a grant this afternoon and just had to take a minute to vent.

I hate insurance companies. Hate them. Loathe them. Spit on them.

Yesterday, Lauren and I were making a grocery list when she asked me if I needed the health insurance statement that was inside the envelope on which we were writing.

After going to have blood drawn 5 times in the past 6 months, not to mention the multiple primary care and a few fertility appointments lately, I know what a statement looks like. It tells me what services I had, the inflated insurance “retail” price and then my portion to pay, which is typically $0.  I was going to throw it in the recycle bin.

So imagine my surprise when I begrudgingly opened the envelope to find a bill for $350!!! 

It was labeled as a consult from the hematologist.

Two things are wrong here: # 1. $350 for a 30 minute appointment? Holy crap! I must have a ” I love overpriced, rip-off clinician” sticker on my forehead! and #2. Why were they not covering this????

So I called. Apparently because the office is located in a hospital, they have the option of billing as a hospital or as a practice. They chose to bill my insurance as the hospital, which requires me to get pre-authorization before going.

The kind lady that I spoke angerly to this morning (ok… I yelled… with a quiver in my voice, just for dramatic effect) said that I always need to be pre-authorized before seeing any physician in a hospital, even if it is an emergency… hmm… so… if I accidentally cut my finger off while cooking, I need to make sure to use my attached digits to call my insurance company to get the a-ok to see a doc? You have got to be kidding me.

Thankfully, the lady I spoke to was very nice (and patient) and said that I can get the pre-auth now and they will honor it. Here’s to hoping my doc plays phone tag with my insurance company to get all of this cleared up. Don’t they understand that I can get a vial of baby juice for $350!?

Ah… much better. Feels good to vent.

All is well on the baby front. Lauren has been fantastic (as usual) with helping me stick to this Chinese Medicine diet and reminding me to take my prenatal vitamins. That in-and-of itself is a full-time job. I can barely remember to change the laundry, which if forgotten would result in us being naked or commando for work; so taking a small pill that won’t kill me if I forget, is a horrible task.

In other news, I am at peak ovulation right now (watch out boys! I am gunnin’ your way! — ewww… just kidding), so I should be starting my next cycle within 2 weeks or so. Baby-makin’ is on the horizon!

On to the recipe:

Rosemary, Onion and Garlic Focaccia

2 1/2 Tsp of dry, active yeast

1 Tsp of sugar

4 1/2 cups of flour (I prefer unbleached, white and organic, but I am a hippie that composts her tea bags so you can make your own selection of flour)

1/4 Tsp of salt

3 Tbsp of Olive Oil (it’s ok if it is a little more…)

2 Tsp of finely chopped rosemary, plus 1 stem of whole rosemary leaves (I love rosemary and it grows like mad in our garden, so I tend to use more than this…)

1/4 c. of minced red onion

3 cloves of garlic, finely minced

 

In a large bowl, mix yeast, sugar and 1 3/4 cups of lukewarm water until it becomes foamy.

Stir in flour, salt and 2 Tbsp of the oil and kneed the dough until slightly sticky. You may add more flour as necessary to get this consistency.

Transfer dough to lightly oiled bowl, turn dough to coat with oil, loosely cover and place in warm place for 1 hour to rise. It should double in size.

After the hour is up, oil hands and kneed in the chopped rosemary and minced garlic. Place dough into round cake pans, cover loosely and let rise for 30 minutes.

Once dough has risen, dimple the dough with your fingertips, brush it with some olive oil, top with onion, rosemary and some salt and place in a preheated 400 degree oven for 35 minutes or until brown. It is best to place the pans in the bottom third of the oven for cooking.

Transfer to a cooling rack, remove from pan (it should just slide out) and serve. 🙂

One thought on “Focaccia and Frustrations!

  1. Apparently I need to be clearer regarding what insurance companies and fields I hate. How quickly I forget that Lauren is a life insurance agent. haha. whoops.

    Allow me to rephrase. I hate HEALTH insurance companies.

    I love life insurance. Love it. Thanks, Lauren. Thanks, Lauren’s work. You pay for my clothing, my bills and for the GIGANTIC turkey in my freezer. xo.

Leave a Reply

