Honey, I Can’t Do That!

Saturday is our next appointment at the doctor where we will get more bloodwork done and the second ultrasound of my ovaries. It is also the day that my father’s family is coming over for our annual pre-Christmas brunch. In a household where both of us are from divorced families, we gotta squeeze in holiday parties wherever we can.

So, in preparation of our clearly busy day on Saturday, Lauren and I were talking about the schedule for the day and what we need to do and get done. Our doc appointment is at 7:15 a.m. – that clearly comes first.

“So, what are we going to do on Saturday at the doctor?”  Lauren asked last night.

“They are going to jam that wand in me to see how those monster follicles are doing, and they will take blood work,” I said.

“And then what?” – L

“They will see how my hormones are and let me know when we will inseminate. I think it will probably be Sunday or so.” – R

“Could it be Saturday?????!!!!” Lauren asked.

“Well, I am sure it could… but… I don’t know,” I mumble.

And then the conversation turned to Lauren expressing her concern for having the insemination take place on Saturday before my family comes over. I explained that it probably wouldn’t happen, but it could. I mentioned that whatever we decided to serve, she should know how to prepare as well.

“Well, if we inseminate on Saturday, you are going to lie on the couch all day,” Lauren said.

“Honey, I can’t do that!  We cannot have 5 people over to our house and have me lying on my back with my legs in the air all afternoon!”

“Why not?!”

“Honestly Lauren…?…!…”

“We’ll just tell them you aren’t feeling well…”

“And so I have to lie on my back with my legs in the air… oh god…”

Oh my my my, I can just see the conversation with our kids now… Sometimes she makes me nervous. In a good way 🙂

2 thoughts on “Honey, I Can’t Do That!

Leave a Reply

