She keeps going, and going, and going…

One of my coworkers calls me the Energizer Bunny because I am always busy doing one thing or another. This holiday season was no different.

Due to the blizzard over the weekend of December 19th, my family’s holiday gathering was cancelled and we had to meet up with my father’s family on Christmas Eve. This adds another stop to our list — and when you consider that both Lauren and I come from divorced households that means that we always have at least 4 families with whom we need to celebrate.

On Christmas Eve, after we inseminated (9:00 a.m.), I came home and baked 3 Lemon-Coconut cakes with lemon rum glaze and 2 4 dozen pistachio vanilla biscotti. It all came out of our oven and cooled in the car as we rushed off to acupuncture (2:30 p.m.) 

The treatment was really nice and relaxing. It was to aid with implantation and Lauren and I got to sit together as the treatment went on. Very sweet moment.

After acupuncture was over (4:30 p.m.) , we drove to my cousin’s house for my father’s family’s holiday party. It was nice to see family that I haven’t seen in over 2 years and spend some time with them. We enjoyed our visit with them, but had to leave there to go to my mother’s family’s holiday party (7:00 p.m.). We arrived home on Christmas Eve at 11:30 p.m. It was an extremely long day.

Thankfully we slept in until 8:00 a.m. on Christmas morning before going to Lauren’s mother’s house (10:00 a.m.) to spend the morning. It was nice and relaxing — so much so that I took a nap on the couch from about 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. We spent the afternoon (2:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.) with Lauren’s father’s family at her grandmother’s. Again, a nice time, but very tiring.

Today was relatively low key as we prepared to end the holiday weekend. We spent some time with my grandparents and did some post-Christmas sale shopping. I got a great Calphalon stainless steel pan on sale at Bed Bath and Beyond and we got some great items for Christmas next year. We didn’t put up a Christmas tree this year, so today as we scoured the sales at Target we bought a ton of Christmas balls, decorations, etc. I see this as my motivation for getting a tree next year. We’ll see how it goes.

Hope everyone else had a nice holiday too.

New Years is right around the corner… and then… and then… we get to see if we are pregnant. Hurry up 2010!

Leave a Reply

