I’ll Have a Mocktail, Please

Well… it’s New Year’s Eve.

I have never been a huge fan of New Years. It’s just a bunch of hype and a money makin’ scheme if you ask me. And I am not much of a drinker, so I have never seen the appeal of getting plastered to celebrate the dawning of the next calendar year.

I choose to look at New Years as a way to embrace the possibilities of next year — like the possibility that this constant acid reflux, nausea, headaches and ravenous devouring of all food near me means that we have a little munchkin growing.

It has to be that… or I am developing Munchausen Syndrome and I am making all this crap up.  Why I would make up sudden misery, exhaustion (coupled with insomnia for added fun!) and a general feeling of wanting to vomit and then eat again is beyond me… but there is no other explanation at this point.

So I plan on celebrating tonight’s festivities with Lauren, at her cousin’s house. I have a bottle of French Berry Sparkling Lemonade waiting for me. Oh, I know, I am fancy. You can be jealous. I also plan to hover around the cheese dip and frito plate while nodding at the intoxicated couples in an “oh my god if you could see yourself now” manner.  They may catch on and tell me that I have food stuck to my face/chin/cheek/butt and we will all laugh.

Lauren and her cousin are trying to make sure that I enjoy New Years tonight and don’t sulk up to an empty bed and sleep (although a nap around 10:00 p.m. will probably occur).  I appreciate the inclusion… and I intend on making it as entertaining and interesting as possible.

Last night, I was told that I can join in on the games either by playing “water pong” — thanks for the creativity guys! — or by being the corraler of the drunks as we get ready for the next game, the ball drop, to go home, etc. **Don’t worry, everyone is going to drive safely or stay the night!**

I am thinking of getting a bullhorn so that  I can be heard over the “dude, I love you.. I really do… I am not saying it because I am drunk…” conversations.

A nice shiny whistle might also be in order to get some attention. I am hormonal, you remember, so I might need extra attention from everyone around at all times… or I might cry. A whistle will definitely signal some hugs or snuggle time.

Above all else, I plan on enjoying the evening as one of our last potential “blow-outs” before we find out if we are indeed pregnant. I am going to take it easy, play some Mario Kart on Wii and enjoy my evening.

Hope everyone else has a fantastic New Year’s Eve!

2 thoughts on “I’ll Have a Mocktail, Please

  1. Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog and letting me know about yours. We are foodies too, so I love that your blog includes that angle. I’m hoping that the new year brings you the news you’re hoping for–it certainly sounds that way from your symptoms! I’ll be following along from here on out. When do you test?

  2. Thank you so much for your post. I’m home alone (Joe’s out plowing) and it made me laugh… 🙂 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your lady. I’m wishing all the best for you in 2010 🙂

Leave a Reply

