Thump Thump Thump

We went for our second ultrasound today and got to hear the baby’s heartbeat. It was a sturdy and healthy 145 beats per minute and it is measuring at 7 weeks, 2 days, which is right where it should be.

Seeing that little flicker of a heartbeat was the coolest thing ever. I think Lauren and I both sat there with our mouths wide open for a few minutes. The ride is official and just beginning.

And oh, what a ride it was this weekend!

Friday night was nice and quiet. Lauren cleaned the house while I moaned about feeling ill all night. During my grumpiness she vaccuumed the whole house, cleaned the kitchen and bathroom, did laundry and occupied the dogs. She and her dad also finished installing our attic and she moved a ton of boxes.

Saturday was again spent with me feeling like crud. Thankfully, it was a nice relaxing day for us all. My mom spent the day with us and we all watched movies. Our neighbor and her daughter came over too.  Sunday was much of the same.

This feeling sick thing is really hard wrap my brain around. It seems like if I eat a large meal, I feel ill — but if I eat small meals, they might not be enough and then I get hungry and then nauseated. I think I am learning what a “small meal” should look like and that if I eat a real small meal instead of a cup of applesauce and call it a meal, I feel better.

Lauren is being a great trooper as I turn my nose up to half of the contents of our cabinets. She has perfected the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, which seems to be the one thing that always makes my tummy feel good. I tell her all the time how lucky I am to have her as my wife and that I don’t think I could find someone as patient… but I don’t think she knows how much I truly truly mean it.

Surprisingly, I can be a bit of a monster at times…

Leave a Reply

