Ya Dig Me?

At Baltimore residents, we spent Friday afternoon preparing for a giant blizzard that was heading our way. It dumped almost 3 feet of snow on us and our streets have still not been plowed. This winter wonderland created quite a few interesting things for us:

1.  As a pregnant woman (9 weeks!), my cravings and food aversions change by the moment. While I may have wanted pancakes on Saturday, by Sunday they sounded repulsive. Same thing goes for lunches and dinners, as well as snacks. So on Friday, I went to the grocery store after work and tried to hit every craving I might have and buy just a small amount of food to satisfy it.  I did an OK job with it, aside from not buying any meat because it grossed me out. Now, we are two forced vegetarians, snowed in with two grumpy dogs.

2.   Our dogs are miserable. Miserable.  Sable, our pit bull, hates any weather that is not 75 degrees and sunny with a slight breeze. In the winter she shivers constantly and in the summer she pants all the time. So 3 feet of snow is her own personal hell. But, she is a smart dog and has found the only place in our backyard that has no snow — our covered patio set. She wiggles her little body under the cover and does her business. I don’t even want to imagine what that is going to look like when the snow melts.  Our coonhound, Casey, does not hate the snow, but is a bit of a princess and likes to go to the bathroom about 10 times a day.  With only about 4 feet of a shoveled path out back for them, she has been cranky, panicked and nervous that she is running out of clean snow.  Yesterday, we walked her in the middle of our unplowed street so that she would finally poop.

3.  Our streets are still not plowed.  We live in the City and while I have heard rumors of some City streets being semi-plowed and almost passable, the plow trucks have totally missed our neighborhood. When we got hit by the huge storm in 2003, it took almost 4 days for the plows to come and save us. This all means that I am working from home today. We are expecting 6 – 12″ of snow tomorrow night into Wednesday also. 

4.  We were scheduled to go to a Meet and Greet tonight for a midwife practice we are looking to use. Mind you, I am 9 weeks pregnant and have not finalized which doctor I want. We think that the midwife practice is going to be it, but really wanted to meet the women before we said yes. Now that there is all of this snow, I assume we will just need to make our first appointment with them rather than wait til the March Meet and Greet.

Now, I love snow. I do. I was born in a snow storm. But this is a little ridiculous. I am getting a little stir crazy. There are only so many board games that Lauren and I can play, and our Netflix hasn’t been picked up because our street is covered in 3 feet of snow.

The positive thing about the snow storm… Jury duty was cancelled today! Yay!

4 thoughts on “Ya Dig Me?

  1. I’m kind of jealous. All we’re getting this winter is small storms. Enough to F- up the drive to and from work, but not enough to snow anyone in. If it’s going to snow, it might as well snow hard.

  2. Ohhh those poor doggies! No room out there! I think I’d shiver and hide also.
    Good luck being so cooped up! We live in CA now (thank goodness, sorry) but used to live in Boston for a few years. I can very much relate to having unplowed blizzard conditions. Can drive you crazy!

Leave a Reply

