This Week’s Lesson: BREATHE

Thanks to an amazing, dear friend, I started a fantastic prenatal yoga class this week.

I had a horrible experience with prenatal yoga at 18 weeks or so, and it totally turned me off. Then, said friend recommended the prenatal yoga class she took and she kindly signed me up for it. I have to admit that I was a little nervous (maybe a lot!) to see how this all was going to go down, especially starting the 4 week class at 34 weeks pregnant.

But let me tell you — it was glorious!! Sure I wasn’t able to do exactly some of the moves that some of the ladies did, but I learned modifications that felt great and really stretched my body. I slept like a rock on Monday night!

Tuesday we went to Lilith Fair and as I mentioned, it was a lot of fun and the baby was not born in a field. 🙂

Thursday we had our Bradley birthing class and we talked about 1st stage of labor. It was very indepth and informative and Lauren took lots of notes (she is going to be the best coach ever!). Then we did a mock contraction exercise where we worked on getting into our “zone” while contractions were occurring.

How did we do this?

Essentially we (the pregnant partners) began our breathing and relaxation while our coaches squeeeeeeezed our upper arms with all of their strength for 30 second intervals. It must be all of the acupuncture, meditation and breathing that I have been doing, but I honestly hardly felt Lauren grab me at all and I felt myself spacing out. When the exercise was over and I opened my eyes, I felt like I had been napping and was groggy. Very strange… but hopefully a good sign that I am doing well with my focus and relaxation techniques.

And as our last day of breathing fun, last night my mom, Lauren and I went to an infant CPR and safety class. Since my mom will be watching Baby Bunny 3 days a week and Lauren and I will each be home one day, I thought it was important for us to all know how to respond in an emergency. The instructor was a little dry and the most paranoid person I have ever met, but it was a good class.

Afterwards, we went out to a very late dinner. For dessert (which I was still talking about this morning…) we had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich that was dipped in pancake batter and deep fried, topped with vanilla ice cream, caramel sauce and whipped cream — a preggo’s delight! Yum!

Today’s a relaxing day. We are doing our usual Saturday routine of cleaning and farmer’s market, followed by some walking around in this gorgeous weather and then installing the car seat tonight. It’s all getting close. 5 weeks and a few days to go. I am excited… but I want her to stay put as long as she needs. No rush.

Leave a Reply

