Pile of Craft

One of the most exciting parts about being a mom is the giddiness I experience when thinking about teaching Lillian new things — specifically hands-on, crafty projects.

On an almost weekly basis, I find myself saying “I cannot wait until Lillian can color/paint/make sock puppets/draw on the bathtub with washable crayons/play with clay/etc.”  I was raised in a very artsy household and am so eager to pass this love onto Lillian. Yesterday when she was smearing her yogurt around in swirls on her highchair, I almost giggled with joy (instead I stood there transfixed and just watched her play and play and play with it).

And rather than wait around for the time to come when all of this creative excitement can come out, I decided this week to buy myself a sewing machine and get to work. Growing up my mom worked part time for a local playhouse and constantly made me costumes, clothes, purses, hobby horses, etc. I loved it and when I was old enough she taught me how to make pillows and such. It was great! So, I figured I might as well start playing with some things before Lillian is old enough so I look like I know what I am doing 🙂

I will definitely be posting some things on here as they come along and you all will get to see my creations 🙂

One thought on “Pile of Craft

  1. Great idea with the yogurt! When I worked at a camp in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, we used pudding! Have fun being crafty!

Leave a Reply

