Say It Ain’t So!

Sometimes I foolishly think that Lillian will forever be spared of things such as sleep regression, temper tantrums and learning to walk. I assume that she will always remain small and will never go through the things that all the books tell you about. Most of the time I am quickly shown that I am wrong.

My most recent “I was wrong” moment centers around the shift from two naps to one. I really thought I had another 6 months or more until our glorious two napper decided to drop one — afterall, she is still tiny, right?

Well she has a different plan in mind.

During the past few days, we have been struggling to get in a second nap, with her most stable and consistent nap of the day occurring from about 10:00 a.m. until 11:30 or so. And that’s it!

Yesterday she played in her crib for over an hour before she finally passed out for 30 minutes, and today my mom said she didn’t sleep a wink after 75 minutes. Ugh! Thankfully she is still pretty pleasant (pleasant enough to take her out to have sushi last night, and god knows we wouldn’t take a monster out in public).  I just hope that the pleasantness continues and the one nap per day transition is kind on all of us.

I guess it’s true that the only thing that is constant is change.

But it doesn’t mean that I have to like it.

Leave a Reply

